Mayor Pro Tem Theodore W. Mohn

Mayor Pro Tem, Council Member District 8

Ted MohnMayor Pro Tem Theodore W. Mohn
Council Member District 8
6961 Bone Creek Dr.
Fayetteville, NC 28314
(910) 495-3634


Theodore (Ted) W. Mohn was elected to his fifth term on the Fayetteville City Council by the citizens of District 8 in November 2017.  While being elected in a single district, Mohn strongly believes and supports inclusive representation for all Fayetteville citizens regardless of council member district boundaries.

Mohn grew up in North Chicago, Illinois, joined the U.S. Army in 1982 and graduated from the Defense Mapping School in 1983 as an Army Cartographer.  He returned to the Defense Mapping School and graduated from the Basic Terrain Analysis Course in 1985, the Advanced Terrain Analysis Course in 1989 and the Terrain Analysis Warrant Officer Certification Course in 1997. During Mohn's time in the Army, his assignments included Fort Belvoir, Va. (twice), Fort Bragg, NC (twice), Hawaii (twice), Fort Leonard Wood, Mo  and Germany.  The Army also sent Mohn to the former Yugoslavia, Island of Sardinia, Korea, Japan, Kuwait and Iraq. Mohn retired from the Army at Fort Bragg in the summer of 2004.

Upon retirement from the Army, Ted worked as a defense contractor on Fort Bragg until early 2007 when he became a Department of Defense civilian employee.

Ted's interest in Fayetteville's local government began after returning from Operation Iraqi Freedom and shortly before his retirement.  He learned his house was being involuntarily annexed into Fayetteville so he joined the Cumberland County Citizens United (CCCU), a 501 (c)(3), non-profit, grassroots citizens' organization to challenge the annexation. Ted has remained engaged with citizens across the entire city ever since.

Mohn believes in transparent government and citizen participation.  He believes elected officials work for citizens and that citizens don't work for elected officials.  He's excited about Fayetteville's future and wants to continue to help improve quality of life services for all Fayetteville citizens.

Ted has two young-adult children:  Amanda and Kyle Mohn.

District 8 Subdivisions

  • Beaver Run
  • Bristol Park
  • Cliffdale Estates
  • Cliffdale West
  • Country Walk
  • Fairfield
  • Farmington
  • Farrington
  • Four Seasons
  • Hammond Hills (Fort Bragg)
  • Harris Place
  • James Creek
  • Kings Mill
  • LaGrange* (also District 4)
  • Lake William
  • Lancaster
  • Middle Creek
  • Montibello
  • Nijmegen-Cherbourg (Fort Bragg)
  • Parkers ridge
  • Scotts Mill
  • Scotts Mill North
  • Springdale
  • Tunbridge
  • Village Hills
  • Westpoint

City Council District 8 Election Map


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer